When hell freezes over

Are they coming?
Someone tell me, is it true?
Are they searching Cedar Avenue?
Is there a raid in Richfield?
Are they coming? Is it true?

Through the vacuum of cyberspace,
can you hear the tears
in Arizona where
Guadalupe García de Rayos
wife, mother, worker,
checked in at the immigration office
as she did last year and the year before and the year before that,
but this year:
arrested
deported
that very day
“The truth is I was there for my children.
For a better future. To work for them.
And I don’t regret it,
because I did it for love,”
The children are here now, and she is not
because hell freezes over and turns to ICE

Are they coming?
Someone tell me, is it true?
Should I keep my children inside?
Lock my doors?
Stay home from work?

Through the vacuum of cyberspace,
can you hear the screaming
in El Paso, as
six ICE agents enter the county courthouse and
drag out a woman:
her protective order
against domestic violence gives
no protection from
hell freezing over and turning to ICE.

Are they coming?
Do you know is it today?
Is it tomorrow?
On the street or in my home?

Through the vacuum of cyberspace,
can you hear the anger in Seattle
for Daniel Ramirez Medina,
a dreamer, age 23,
arrested, taken out of his home,
despite DACA and work permit:
nothing matters when
hell freezes over and turns to ICE.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

